Soaking up the ridiculousness

Standard

As expected, we settled into a solid routine of great meals followed by fun adventures, interspersed with wacky hijinks: Y14-BreakfastNerissa made Erik a special place-setting: Y14-PlaceSettingWe talked T into making his famous pancakes, but had forgotten the syrup. So, the camp store provided us with this memory from childhood: Y14-Breakfast2On deck for the first day’s adventure was a hike to Cathedral Lake. We decided to pose for a fun “Before” picture: Y14-BeforeCLhikeUnsurprisingly, there was A LOT of uphill. T sprinted out ahead of the pack, while the rest of us walked at a reasonable place, stopping to wheeze rest, but the scenery was beautiful: Y14-CLhikeY14-CLhike3Y14-CLhike2We talked some other hikers into a group shot at the half-way point: Y14-CLhikeGroupEventually, we arrived at our destination – beautiful Lower Cathedral lake: Y14-CLhike6I took off my shoes and took advantage of the natural ice bath on my feet and calves. Then it was time to EAT. This looks like a good picnic spot: Y14-CLhike4Nerissa got this great shot of our post-lunch relaxing: Y14-CLhikeLunchRestThen it was time to head back. More showy nature: Y14-CLhike5T & Nerissa dubbed Erik & I the “Red-breasted Jays” because we chattered noisily for most of the hike. And, of course, we did an “After” shot to go with the earlier ones: Y14-AfterCLhikeComedy gold, I tell you! We stopped at the camp store for more firewood (and ice cream). Nerissa and I opted for the ladies room. I heard much giggling from her stall and made her pose for this picture when I saw the source: Y14-TooHighToilet All of the other toilets were a normal height, so we weren’t sure what the story was with this one. T’s guess was accessibility, but who knows. We might have been a bit punchy from the hike because we thought this was pretty funny as well: Y14-HandSanitizaThe boys didn’t know what to make of all of the laughter coming from the ladies room. The next day, T and I decided to tackle an open-water swim at Tenaya Lake while Erik & Nerissa went for a hike. Per usual, the scenery was crap. I brought my waterproof camera to get some pictures: Y14-TenayaLakeY14-TenayaLake2 I warned T that swimming at this altitude was not going to be easy and to adjust his expectations accordingly, but I think he was a little surprised by how much it affected him. Y14-TenayaLakeTI haven’t been swimming much and hadn’t worn my long-sleeved wetsuit in a long time, so I took it easy and swam somewhat near the shore. The water was cold, but not too bad once you got in. It was super clear and beautiful. Plus, with no showers at the camp, it was really nice to rinse off the dirt. T managed a half-mile of swimming, which was pretty solid considering the altitude/water temp. T took a nap while I lazed around the campsite. I gave the hammock a little test-drive: Y14-HammockI definitely need one of these! Hammock-eye view: Y14-HammockViewErik & Nerissa returned from their hike, which was apparently not enough to tire Nerissa out, as she and T decided to go for a second hike up Lembert Dome. Erik & I opted for more laziness. Here are Nerissa and T being awesome: Y14-LembertDomeTN(The haze behind them is from the El Portal fire. It was the only day we noticed it.) Clearly, it wasn’t slowing T or Nerissa down!

One thought on “Soaking up the ridiculousness

  1. Heidi

    Such an amazing trip! I am simultaneously completely jealous and grateful for the amazing photos so I can live vicariously through you. 😉

Leave a Reply

