What a week…

Standard

In an effort to shake things up, I decided to try some new stuff last week. T is still doing a lot of travel for work, so I particularly wanted some activities on the calendar so I didn’t just hibernate in the house and get weird.

On Tuesday, I went to a meet-up book group called “Reading Between the Wines” that my friend Jenn had found. It’s never easy to go meet a group of strangers, but I really want to expand my social circle here. Plus, I’ve been wanting to join a book group for the longest time but had no idea on how to find one. (Kudos to Jenn for looking on meet-up.)

The group was great and I had so much fun. One of the women lived in Seattle at the same time I did in the nineties and even worked at the same theatre company as me. (The one that I moved to Seattle to work at and where I met T.) Crazy small world. I’m definitely looking forward to future meetings and getting to know everyone better.

My other big leap forward was finally going to a Husky Masters swim workout. I’ve been talking about going for the better part of a year, but just couldn’t seem to work up the nerve. But when I told Jenn about it, she agreed to go and thus I had an accountability partner. Then I roped T in and the three of us went to the Sunday workout.

It was scary and intimidating, but I just did the best I could. Luckily, it wasn’t super crowded, so even though I was probably in a faster lane than I should have been, it worked out. I swam further and for a longer time than I’ve done in a pool, probably ever. And it went by so quickly, I couldn’t believe it. I’m definitely going to make myself keep going. It will be tough, but my swimming will definitely improve.

Unfortunately, the rest of Sunday took a nose-dive as I was driving home from the grocery store and the Camry completely crapped out. It had been doing this weird gearing thing, but it had suddenly gotten worse and we were planning to take it to the mechanic on Monday. But one day earlier, it just wouldn’t go forward anymore – 3/4 of a mile from home on a rainy afternoon with a car full of groceries.

Thankfully, I could call T to come help me push the car out of the driveway it was blocking and wait with the car for AAA, while I walked the groceries home. When I got home, I discovered that young Austin decided to make my day even better by chewing up my favorite sandals:

BadDogHe was not my favorite dog. (T was also in trouble for not checking the living room for shoes, since this is a known target of young Austin… )

The next day, I was expecting the worst on the Camry, so I was very surprised to get a text from T that they thought it was only going to be a couple hundred bucks to fix it. Score! But then a little while later, he called back with “Oops, the transmission is shot, that will be thousands of dollars… ” So, for all intents and purposes, the Camry was dead. Luckily, our fabulous mechanic had a soft spot for Camrys and he offered us $500 bucks for it. Plus, it sounds like he’s actually going to fix it/drive it, which makes me happy for no good reason.

Good-bye, little Camry. You were very good to us!

Camry1

So now, we face the dizzying prospect of buying a new (to us) car and all of the idle thoughts of what kind of car we might want are suddenly all urgent and feel kind of overwhelming. Plus, T is traveling again this week and we’re going up to Jenn & Bryan’s cabin next weekend when he gets back, so there isn’t a lot of action I can take. Honestly, there’s not a lot of action that I need to take. I already take the bus to work and have easy bus or walking access to most stuff that I need. I think it’s more of an emotional panic since I haven’t not had a car in 22 years and it just feels weird and wrong.

But the upside is, I should have get an amusing blog post out of the car-buying process! Stay tuned…

 

Leave a Reply

