SUP Ballard

Standard

Last year I bought a Groupon for a standup paddleboard tour/lesson. Unfortunately, the day we were supposed to do our outing, the weather was bad and it got cancelled. The owner of the business said that we could just bring it back this year. So, we finally got around to scheduling that excursion. (Unfortunately, there was a little miscommunication about this and we ended up paying the balance of the price, but c’est la vie… )

Our group consisted of all couples, which was pretty funny. (Apparently, Seattle considers a two-hour stand-up paddleboard excursion to be a good Friday night date activity.) The guides went on at some length about how great it was that everyone was so fit and athletic, so now I really want to hang out at that beach to see what usually shows up for these things. They gave us some initial instruction and we set out. By luck of the draw, I was one of the first in the water, so I had a chance to snap a picture of the group. (Waterproof camera FTW!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWe initially stayed on our knees because the wind was pretty strong coming in off the sound. (This was fine with me!) When we got to a calmer patch of water, there was a SUP yoga class going on.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATalk about a tranquil setting for a yoga class! It was gorgeous. I’d been nervous to stand up, but I figured if they could do yoga out there, I could probably handle standing up. (Not to mention that everyone else in the class had been up for a while, so it seemed pretty safe.)

We paddled out past Discovery Park. The scenery was beautiful and the water was pretty peaceful. T was way ahead of me, so I missed seeing him fall into the water – we’d turned around at that point. But I heard one of the guides teasing him. (Usually, it’s me falling in the water, so I was pretty happy that I managed to stay dry.)

We had a tailwind coming back, so I had more of an opportunity to take pictures:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe boy seemed no worse for his little dunk in the Sound:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWe had an Argosy cruise pass by us, which was a bit exciting…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAT was still pretty damp when we got to shore, so I had to take a picture:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt was such a fun trip. I highly recommend giving it a try.

Leave a Reply

