A new look

Standard

I’m sorry it’s been so quiet here. There hasn’t been much to write about lately. Since the race I’ve been super lazy, not training at all. About the only exercise I get is taking longish walks when the mood strikes me. At some point I’ll get back into the exercising, but for the time being, I’m enjoying the downtime and attending to the parts of my life I’ve been neglecting lately.

One area in particular was my hair. It’s been getting very long and I really didn’t know what I wanted to do about it. With the Vineman training, I was reluctant to give up the ease of throwing it into a ponytail, so I tabled that issue until after the race. I typically have just gone into the hairstylist and asked for a variation of a fringy chin-length bob, but this time I wanted something different, I just wasn’t sure what. So, I waited to be inspired.

Inspiration struck while finally getting around to watching the Netflix show House of Cards. One look at Robin Wright’s hair and I was in love:

house-of-cards-robin-wrightThe funny thing is that it reminded me of a haircut I’d had as a teenager:

JuniorHighWhich I’d hated at the time. Apparently, I was just incredibly fashion forward!

I also went through this same really long hair to short right after I got married. I left my hair long for the wedding and then cut it all off into a very similar cut:

Alaska(This is T and I in Alaska a few months after we got married. He was up there doing a show, I had a chance to go up and visit for a week between gigs down in California.)

So, I googled the haircut to find some images and came across a blog post written by a hairstylist who was also obsessed with this cut. She turned out to be in Seattle and a salon that M has gone to (and I’ve gone to the Ballard branch of.) The universe was definitely giving the thumbs up.

I made an appointment with Roxie and even splurged on some chunky blonde highlights. I couldn’t be happier with the end result:

HaircutMontageIt was a little weird to go back to having short hair, but so far it’s been great.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

