What a week!

Standard

So, I was going to write this fun little blog post about the metric century I rode last weekend with my mother-in-law and her friend. It was the first time I’ve ever been faster than Susan and it was quite an ego trip (especially with dorky cyclists hitting on me, since I was riding sans-T.) Here’s a little collage of the fun:

MCcollageBut then poor Smokey Joe, who had been limping around with what the vet thought was a sprained elbow, got sick. He’s such a stoic dog, but when he woke us up at 2am to go outside and then went to lay under the bushes in the rain, refusing to come out and making T carry him back into the house, we got the memo that something was wrong.

I was working at home on Tuesday anyway, so I took him to the vet to have him checked out. She was immediately concerned about how pale his gums were and suspected internal bleeding. The look on her face said that this was really serious and made me wonder if I’d be putting Smokey Joe to sleep that day. They took some x-rays and ruled out the giant spleen tumor she was initially suspecting. The x-rays didn’t show any causes for the bleeding, so we were referred to the local emergency vet to do an ultrasound and quicker bloodwork. They also didn’t see anything, but suspected a bleeding ulcer – a side effect from the aspirin/meds he was on for the sprain. Poor Smokey Joe then spent two days there, having every test in the book, including a blood transfusion.

The transfusion made him feel a lot better, so we were able to pick him up this morning, but we’ll need to take him in for blood tests to make sure he is truly on the mend. Here’s the sweet boy, so sleepy and happy to be home:

SJ

While we were dealing with getting Smokey Joe home and settled, T got a message that he had the opportunity to move his impending hip surgery up from early June to tomorrow morning. (Gulp!) He’s been really hoping to get the surgery moved up, so I’m happy for him on that front, but I’m not sure I can handle two invalids in the house!

So, gentle readers, send your healing thoughts to Smokey Joe and T. And if anyone has a lucky rabbits foot or a four-leaf clover, I could sure use the good juju! Lord knows we can use all of the help we can get…

Leave a Reply

