Milestones

Standard

Five years ago today, I posted my first entry on this lovely blog. Who would have thought I’d still have stuff to ramble on about after all this time? (Shut up, everyone who knows me in real life. No one wants to hear it! :-P)

And even harder to believe, it was ten years ago, (this summer) that yours truly asked her husband if he thought she could do a triathlon. (He answered “Of course.” Like I’d asked if he thought I could change the channel on the television. I had to make him confirm he really thought non-sporty, book-reading yours truly could do something as crazy as the Danskin. How times have changed… ) And despite not having swum or ridden a bike since elementary school and never having run ever, I managed to survive that first race. (It helped that the swim was cancelled due to dangerous currents, so it was technically a duathlon, but I still count it.)

Here I am getting ready to toe the line (yellow outfit on the left-hand side):

Danskin

Ten years feels like a good time to celebrate with something epic, so I’m planning to do another Ironman this summer. I’ve set my sights on Vineman, an independent iron-distance race in northern California at the end of July. It’s not a branded “Ironman” but I don’t really care about that at all. It’s half the price and has a humane refund policy, so it works for me! I’m both excited and terrified by this goal. I really don’t want a repeat of the sufferfest that was Canada, so I’m hoping that will help motivate my training for this one. I learned a lot from that race, so I’m hoping it will be a more successful outing.

So, get ready for a whole lot of posts about training!

Leave a Reply

