Boy down

Standard

I believe I’ve mentioned that T had a possible hernia/hip injury, but unfortunately a CT scan confirmed that he did have a hernia and would require surgery. The marathon was definitely off the table, which was a huge bummer. But then when he set out to schedule the surgery, we realized that not only would he not be able to do the marathon, he wouldn’t be able to go with us to Phoenix. (I’d like to say I handled this news with a calm mature attitude, but my reaction was probably closer to a two-year old having a temper tantrum… )

Yesterday was the actual surgery and neither one of us had any idea of what to expect. We live on the second floor of our building and I was worried that I wasn’t going to be able to get him up the stairs. M was nice enough to come along when I picked him up, just in case I needed assistance. He did great though and was able to walk up the stairs unassisted.

He did spend the majority of the day dozing on the couch, while I worked from home:

This really upset the elaborate dog/couch sharing ratio and both dogs spent a long time looking wistfully at the couch. Finally, I dragged a second dog bed into the living room. Such barbaric conditions they live in:

But by the next day, he was feeling better. Well enough to make us a delicious breakfast and even share the couch:

I’m sure getting your legs smushed by a big dog has some sort of healing properties… Hopefully, T will emerge from this happy, healthy and stronger than before.

Leave a Reply

