Screw trotting, these turkeys are sprinting!

Standard

*** Apologies to my tens of readers for neglecting this blog so shamelessly. But trust me, there would have been a lot of boring blog posts about running and things seen on the bus ride to/from work. And does the Blogosphere really need more of that? I think not… ***

Today marked M’s and my fourth Turkey Trot race and the very first time that all four of us (J, T, M & myself) all raced together ever. So, it was a pretty momentous occasion. T’s & my marathon plan has us doing weekly track workouts and some pretty taxing tempo workouts, so my plan for the race was to see how fast I could go and really push myself. M & T were also looking for Personal Bests and J claimed to not make a distinction between running and racing. (We love J. He’s so special!)

I think this race has gotten bigger each year we’ve run it, but it’s still retained it’s wide range of participants. You’ll see everything from the guys in shorts and singlets who will do it in 15 minutes to the runners in silly costumes to the whole family (grandparents & dog included) running with their stroller. Combined with the low-key style of the race, it makes for a very festive experience. We lined up near the front to minimize the dogs and strollers that we’d have to pass. Here’s T’s game face:

The race director got up on a ladder to address the crowd and then we were off! Everyone set off at their own pace and I was pleasantly surprised to find M next to me. Then J caught up to us. At some point M had to drop back and I ended up dropping J on a nice section of downhill. T of course was up ahead of us, but surprisingly I kept him in sight. I pushed really hard on the downhills, trying to get as much “free speed” as possible, but I deliberately didn’t look at my watch to see how fast I was actually running. J passed me again on the final downhill section, which wasn’t terribly surprising.

The final mile is flat and I knew it was going to be a struggle and it didn’t disappoint! I was hurting big time, then M pulled up next to me. I tried to stay with her, but she was looking strong and had paced herself well (unlike yours truly!) I was feeling very disappointed in myself because I just couldn’t keep pushing at the end and actually had to walk across a street less than a quarter of a mile from the finish to get my heart rate under control. But then I crossed the line and looked at my finish time: 26:27. That’s a 5K personal best for me by a lot. Like over 2 and a half minutes, which is pretty amazing in such a short race. M beat me by 20 seconds, proving she’s speedier than she thinks she is. And both boys also sported respectable times.

Here’s the obligatory post race picture:

Now, let’s eat! M & J made bagels at their place, but first T had a little chore to attend to:

If I knew the words to “roll out the barrel” that would totally be stuck in my head right now…

Leave a Reply

