Switching gears

Standard

I’m not sure how much I’ve talked about this year’s racing plans, but I’ve been structuring my training around two half ironman races. A new one in Portland on July 10 and then returning to Grand Columbian on September 17. Grand Columbian is the higher-priority one, as my training has been fairly lackluster, due to the crappy wet spring weather. At one point, I wasn’t even sure I was going to do the Portland race as it had both a tough bike and run course and I wasn’t prepared for either.

I finally decided to plan a weekend in Portland to ride the bike course and run a loop of the run course and then see if I still wanted to sign up. I booked vacation time and warned my parents we’d be staying with them. Then about two days before we were supposed to head down, I started hearing rumors that the course was changing. Now, the primary reason that I’d chosen this race was because it started in downtown Portland, (where T would have lots of entertainment options to keep him busy while I raced) and the bike course passed within a mile of my parents house (so they could come out and see me race without a lot of hassle and drama.) The new course was out at Blue Lake, a venue that I’d raced an Olympic at when we lived in Portland, so I knew something about the course. (It’s very, very flat and windy.)

I will admit that I didn’t take the news very well at all. There was a lot of whining and some sulking. But then I thought about it and realized that I’d never done a flat half before and my rented race wheels that T got me for Christmas would be far more effective on this course than the old one. So, the training weekend was back on, but with a whole new set of challenges.

Leave a Reply

