Adventures in camping

Standard

Last year, M & J took a vacation on the Olympic Peninsula and ended up not using a campsite that they’d reserved. It turned out that you can’t get your money back if you cancel a reservation, but you can re-book it for another time. So, this year we made plans to use it. Unfortunately, the boy got asked to go to Chicago for a conference with one of his professional organizations – so Smokey Joe, Wally and I were joining M & J in the great outdoors at Fort Flagler State Park. After a lengthy wait in the ferry line, (during which M almost didn’t make it onto the ferry that I was already on. She was the very last car on board. Scary!) we drove the hour or so to the state park.

We got to our campsite around six, so M had to hustle to go get some firewood while J and I started setting up camp. I had a new tent to wrangle with, so it took me a lot longer to get set up than J. I forgot to bring our sun/rain shelter, so J was on deck to create a DIY version. I dubbed it the “man project” and handed him a big bag of random lengths of rope and some blue tarps (a must for camping in the Pacific Northwest.) M got back in time to help with this project and I would look up from wrestling with my tent to see scenes like this:

I’ll admit, it wasn’t looking too promising. But before I knew it, we had a pretty snazzy looking rain shelter:

The load-bearing corner branch was my favorite part:

And I got our new tent assembled!

With no help from these lousy dogs:

After a nice dinner of hominy chili and homemade bread, we relaxed around the campfire. I think it’s going to be a great weekend. Certainly better than sulking by myself at home. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

