Summer rations

Standard

I know I’ve whined about our weather here in Seattle before, but it’s been a pretty craptacular spring. And summer isn’t looking much better. Day after day of gray, cloudy, depressing gloom. Every now and then, we’ll get a gorgeous sunny day (usually on a weekday, when I have to be inside a cubicle all day. Grrr!) but then it will be back to the grayness. But finally, the stars aligned and we had a gorgeous sunny weekend in the forecast.

T and I took advantage of the nice weather to do a bike ride up to Edmonds. It was T’s first time climbing the dreaded Shoreline climb (and he ended up doing it twice, because he came back to get me while I was wheezing in one of the cul-de-sacs and missed me.) It’s disgusting how well that boy climbs…

When we got back to our neighborhood, I had a few errands to take care of, so I bribed the boy with ice cream to walk with me. En route, we came across a bike crit (race for the non-cyclists) that we had no idea was going on. We stopped to watch the action for a little while. We got to see the women start their race:

Those girls are amazing (and fast!) Afterward, the boy started on his new experiment/hobby: coffee roasting. Using the $5 popcorn popper he found on Craigslist:

The best part is that his hobby justifies the pizza pan I haven’t been able to let of:

The fruits of his labor:

M & J were coming over for dinner and got to witness some of the coffee-roasting goodness. We had a great summery dinner: grilled chicken and corn on the cob, plus a salad made with lettuce from my little balcony garden. Followed by a strawberry cobbler that we got from a local place that makes everything with local, organic ingredients. And of course no evening would be complete without some Wally-snuggling…

When you pack this much summer into one day, it almost makes it okay that you only get one day’s worth of sunshine. Almost.

Leave a Reply

