New toy

Standard

As a reward for all of my swimming (and because I had a Road Runners gift card left over from my birthday) I chose to buy myself a last Christmas present on my way out of town. (Oregon’s lack of sales tax means it’s like getting things 10% off, when you live in Seattle… ) Behold the newest addition to my training arsenal:

It’s so much fancier than my previous heart-rate monitor, it’s not even funny. Granted I bought my previous one in 2004 and it has served me faithfully despite the shameless amount of abuse I have put it through. (It even sensed the end of it’s era – when I went to take it off my wrist, part of the watchband broke. Talk about timing!)

Since I’d had such a great run with my old 625x, I’d considered getting another Polar, but alas they still don’t really support the Mac platform. Garmin, on the other hand, is super easy to connect/download and has an insane amount of data for me to geek out on. It’s pretty unbelievable. I’ll try not to flood the blog with too much triathlete-geekiness…

Leave a Reply

