Progress report

Standard

(It’s been a while since I’ve bored you with a training post, so here goes… ) I’ve just finished week four of my swim focus and it’s been a very interesting project. I’ve managed to swim five times a week and I had a very helpful session with my friend (and swimmer extraordinaire) Jen, who gave me some very solid advice of where I could improve my stroke. Since then I’ve been immersed in trying to make those adjustments and strengthen all of the new arm muscles into some kind of endurance.

Swimming is a funny sport. It reminds me of ballet, since it’s so technique-driven. It’s a combination of all of these various muscle movements that all have to coordinate for it to work. And you can spend years and years drilling all of these movements and still not master them all. It’s daunting and fascinating at the same time. The nice thing about always having something to fix/focus on is that it keeps the swimming from getting boring.

Because I’ve just been focused on swimming with better technique, I have no real idea of if I’ve gotten faster or not. I’m trusting that speed will come in time. For now, I’m enjoying the journey.

Leave a Reply

