Finding my inner fish

Standard

This year I’m trying something new for my off-season time. Rather than do a less structured version of my swim/bike/run training, I’ve decided to pick one of the sports and just focus on that for a little while. So, starting next week, I’m going to focus on swimming. For the next six weeks, I’m going to aim to swim at least five times per week. I have some mini goals within there (learning a flip turn, for example… ) but the primary aim is to just get more time in the water which will hopefully result in being faster and swimming with better form.

This week was sort of a prep for the formal challenge and I actually ended up swimming four days in a row. I’m only swimming for 30-40 minutes in these sessions, but it’s been pretty good so far. I like the simplicity of just thinking about one sport, especially since it’s the sport I enjoy the most of the three. I’ll post periodic updates on my progress, just to keep my accountability up. Hopefully, this all will lead to some better swim times in my races next year. (It can’t hurt!)

2 thoughts on “Finding my inner fish

  1. Early last year I did a swim focus because I was having so many injury problems with run/bike. I saw HUGE improvements in just a few weeks (and never flip turned haha). Too bad I’ve been out of the pool for over a year now and lost everything I gained… and then some hah! Enjoy it!

  2. Jenn L

    Give me a yell if you want some free coaching sometime (well…free as in you’ll owe me a cupcake afterwards). It’s the only one of the three sports I’m actually any good at!

Leave a Reply

