Running challenge redux

Standard

Hard to believe another year has flown by and it’s time for the Slowtwitch 100 runs in 100 days challenge. Last year, I signed up and finished 80 runs in 100 days, despite losing a number of days at the beginning due to an epic snow storm. My goals were fairly modest last year, as I’d never run that many times a week and wasn’t sure if I’d be able to do it. I soon learned that frequency was a great way to up my mileage and was very pleased with how much my running fitness improved. This year, I’m not sure which level of the challenge I’m going to pursue – go for the 80 again or try to shoot for 90 or even god forbid the full 100.

I’m in desperate need of motivation, so I’m just going to focus on getting out there and running as many days as I can. The biggest difference this year is mixing up the distances/pace a little more. Last year, I did pretty much nothing but runs of 30-40 minutes, which made the first few runs over 4 miles not so enjoyable. 🙂 This year also will have hot yoga and pilates interjected into the mix as well as some strength training. Bring it on, 2010!

Leave a Reply

