Wanna make God laugh?

Standard

Tell him your plans… My father-in-law said this (and if you know anything about my father-in-law, you know how ironic that is.) This weekend was an excellent example of this statement in action. We awoke to a blustery, rainy Saturday morning. We had to call the skydiving place to make sure they were jumping today, even though we were reasonably sure that they weren’t. Unfortunately, we were correct. It was a huge bummer, so we decided to brighten our days with a little trip to Besalu:

P9190056

Since I had some free time on my hands, I offered to accompany M to her packet pick-up and allow T to have some nag-free computer time. I’m no where near the photo-journalist that she is, but I tried to capture the awesome registration moments:

P9190001

M was coming down with cold and feeling a little anxious about her race tomorrow, but she still rocked the super-cute race shirt:

P9190003

(Side note – that is a size LARGE. I think Trek might want to rethink vendors for next year, as I’d need a XL and a lot of women there would need even larger sizes. Hardly an empowering way to go into your first triathlon. I’m just sayin… )

We also got to watch Sally Edwards hype the crowd:

P9190005

And of course when they brought up all of the Team Survivor folks, my eyes teared up. There’s nothing like a stage full of cancer survivors to put your petty complaints into perspective. After some “You go girlfriends” and high-fives, we hit the road.

The rest of the day was spent with a nice misty run out to the sculpture garden and back followed by the movie (500) Days of Summer, which if you haven’t seen, I highly recommend. It wasn’t the day I was planning, but still very enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

