My farewell tour

Standard

Sorry I’ve neglected the blog for a while. This last week was a whirlwind of social activity as I prepared to leave Portland for the new job in Seattle. Because I’m a sap, I’d agreed to work pretty much every day this week, including night shifts on Monday and Tuesday nights and an Illustrator class on Monday/Tuesday and Thursday/Friday. It made for a very busy week at work.

In addition to all of that, we had quite the social calendar. This was somewhat ironic, given that one of my biggest grievances about our life here in Portland was our lack of friends. But apparently, we just needed to leave. Here’s the breakdown:

Tuesday: I had coffee in the afternoon with my friend Hat from school and got caught up with her doings.

Wednesday: The evening was spent finally doing something social with some of my friends from work. We went to a really cool place in SW Portland called the Goose Hollow Tavern. It has a great porch/outdoor area, so we had beer and food and lots of great conversation. The subtitle for the evening was “why didn’t we do this sooner?”

Thursday: That night was spent seeing Wall-E with my co-workers for a Graphics Department tradition of Movie Nights. (We did these every so often, in memory of a former co-worker who died of a heart attack last year.) It ended up being most of my favorite people in the department (and more importantly, my least favorite – the idiot boss wasn’t able to attend.) T joined us for the festivities and we had a good time. I wasn’t planning to run out and see this movie in the theatre, but I really enjoyed it.

Friday: We had a graphics department farewell lunch in my honor with everyone, including the head of our department. We had a really nice lunch with some lively conversation. The gang made me an awesome card, (complete with haiku’s about life at our job) a gift card for a bunch of different restaurants and some cash – all wrapped in Tour de France ‘wrapping paper’. I was very touched, but managed not to cry. After work, it was off to Pok Pok to meet T’s former co-worker/friend of ours, Luke. I love this restaurant so much, it’s a must visit when you’re in Portland. We sat outdoors, had delicious food (and cocktails) and talked for hours, it was a great way to end the week.

Saturday: We spent the morning out at Hagg Lake cheering on our friend Luke (yes, the same one as last night) who was doing the bike leg of a relay for a sprint triathlon. He was riding his sweet new Vanilla bike. (I’ll post pictures of it later – beautiful bike.) Luke’s a bike guy (if you didn’t guess from the fancy custom bike) and this was his first foray into triathlon. I gave him pointers last night and it was fun to cheer him on. My friend Erika was manning her booth at the event, so we got to chat with her for a bit. It was really hot, so I didn’t envy her for having to be out working in that weather.

Then it was time to head to work for my official last day. It was really hard to say good-bye to everyone, especially the small group of folks I work with on Saturdays. They were very sweet and brought in sparkling cider and baked goods. I spent most of my day socializing and wrapping up my last projects. It was hard to remember that I wouldn’t be coming back on Tuesday and that I had to clean out my desk and make sure I had everything. By the end of the evening, I was a bit of a mess emotionally – sad at saying good-bye, excited and nervous about my upcoming job, etc. So, T and I decided to take in a silly summer movie – Hancock. We invited my mom along and had a nice time. The movie was just okay, but I really like Will Smith and Jason Bateman and it was funny and entertaining, definitely a rental.

The big downside to my week of being a social butterfly is that I had absolutely no time to help with packing and sorting, so I felt really guilty on Sunday when it was time to hit the road and leave T behind. But it was time to start the next chapter of our lives: Seattle, Part Two.

Leave a Reply

