Pre-race jitters

Standard

So, tomorrow is my first race of the season and as much as I keep telling myself that this is a “B race” (a lower priority race in the training plan) and I’m just doing it as a preparation for the big dance at Lake Stevens in three weeks, I’m a little nervous about it. I think it’s mostly because I did this event last year and had a terrible race. The weather was gray and drizzly, which didn’t help. But I certainly did my part.

I kicked things off by deciding to wear my brand new wetsuit for the first time (turns out it was too small) – huge rookie mistake. It was like swimming in a corset. Every three strokes I’d have to stop and pant for a bit, which made my goggles fog up. Rinse and repeat. As you can imagine, this did not set me up for success in the other two events. As I wheezed my way onto the bike, the remaining five people who hadn’t passed me in the swim got their chance on the bike. Then leaving onto the run, I managed to stay in front of this other guy, who eventually passed me so that I could see that he was 77. And passing me.

I ended up being third from last and bursting into tears after I crossed the finish line, totally humiliated by how badly I’d done. It wasn’t like I hadn’t been training and I had a half-ironman in three weeks (sound familiar?) That race was supposed to build up my confidence and instead it completely shattered it, which is what I think is triggering my nerves today. So, I’m using this blog for a little free therapy and self-confidence boosting.

This year’s training has been much better than last year, both in consistency and the amount of training I’ve put in. I’m better prepared than I was last year and I’m much more capable than I give myself credit for. But I have always had a mental block when it comes to actually racing. I always seem to be holding myself back and am a little scared that I won’t be able to finish if I go too hard. So, here are my goals for this year:

Push myself harder and actually race – push harder on the swim and the bike, then run the whole thing. This race is half the distance of Lake Stevens, so there’s no reason to worry that I can’t do the distance, even while pushing the pace.

Beat last year’s times. (Preferably by A LOT!) Here’s what I’m up against:

Overall time: 3:46:03
Swim time: 0:43:46
1st transition: 5:17
Bike time: 1:35:40
2nd transition: 3:50
Run time: 1:17:29

There is lot’s of room to improve. I want to go under 3 and a half hours, by as much as I can. I know that’s not fast in the grand scheme of things, but it will prove to me that I can put all of the hard work to use in a race day situation, which will be a huge hurdle to overcome. Win or lose, I’ll post a race report tomorrow and see if I can get sleepy T to take some pictures that I’d be willing to show people (didn’t happen last year – yikes!)

Happy Saturday everyone!

4 thoughts on “Pre-race jitters

  1. crazyoatie

    I think it’s perfectly normal to feel nervous, especially after last year’s showing. But you seem like you’ve been kicking some serious butt in your training recently so I’m sure you’ll do really well tomorrow. I look forward to reading your post-race post. 🙂

  2. T

    Well The results aren’t up on the site yet, but for anyone checking in, M smashed her times from last year… We think she finished in just under 3:20! More from her when time allows and I’ll post the results here when they’re up!

    Go M! I’m so very proud of you!

Leave a Reply

