Leaving Los Angeles

Standard

The next morning, Heidi prepped a breakfast casserole made with oatmeal (not the dog) and strawberries baked in the oven. While it baked, we sat around sipping coffee and getting caught up with each other’s lives. We shared photos on our laptops, told long involved stories and generally just had a really great long conversation that lasted well past the yummy breakfast. After a few hours of lounging around, we decided to venture out to tackle the lone item on my agenda: picking up In & Out Burgers for Todd. (Yes, I’m obsessed with that place.)

Now, I’m sure you are wondering why I might be doing such a thing. Todd was joking that I should bring him back some and I remembered that I’ve had leftover In & Out before and it wasn’t bad, so I offered to bring some back. Heidi was willing to join me on my quest, so we headed to In & Out for lunch. (Sorry, arteries!) Naturally, we couldn’t let such an amusing activity go unrecorded, so while I bagged up my burgers, Heidi snapped some pictures:

After the burger follies, we wandered over to IKEA and had a lovely stroll through the store, talking and admiring various pieces of Scandinavian furniture. Heidi got a new tablecloth and dishtowel and I eyed several items that may have to be purchased at my local store. It was a nice way to digest the grease and a good activity to do before having to sit on a plane for a few hours.

Far too soon, it was time to head to the airport and say good-bye to Heidi. We promised that there would not be the same length of time between visits and that we’d both be better at keeping in touch. I checked in for my flight and had a nice uneventful trip home. T. greeted me at the airport, Coffee People milkshake in hand (a local chain that got bought by Starbucks except for their airport branches – they make some seriously awesome milkshakes.) It was great to see him and I jabbered random stories at him while we waited for my bag. He’d brought the dogs with him, so I got to see them and get lots of doggie love. Then on the way home I picked up a slice of pizza, since Todd had his burgers for dinner and we sat around swapping stories and getting caught up on everything. I had an amazing time, but it’s always good to be home.

2 thoughts on “Leaving Los Angeles

Leave a Reply

